Silly Old Dress

By: niftyba

Jun 05 2007

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

(Sorry for no post yesterday. Apparently, I had no time to write. Scary.)

This post will no doubt be the first of many concerning an important issue of any bridal experience: the wedding dress. Yeah… tough subject here.

During the summer of 2006, I found “the dress.” I was with my Grandma at this dress shop that was closing down, and after looking around, I found the one I wanted to be mine. The first thing I fell in love with was the skirt. The material was exactly what I was looking for, and the lacy design couldn’t have been better. I tried it on, and although  it was tight, I became determined to have it. After countless trips to the shop, spending my time eyeing it, I asked Grandma to buy it for me. It was $25. I could have gotten it for free… but I wanted it badly enough to actually buy it. And at $25… really, it was nothing.

I strongly dislike how wedding gowns these days have to come at some gosh-awful price. Yes, I know that wedding gowns are special and are made from heavenly fabric, but I don’t think one should spend half a year’s rent on something you wear once (unless you look absolutely fabulous). Perhaps this is just my strange opinion- I love things on a bargain, and even if I hadn’t found “the dress” for cheap at a shop that was closing down, I would have looked for something vintage nonetheless. (Hehehehehe, $25!)

Anyways, back to the dress… I guess it is a 1960s/1970s Cahill Ltd. of Beverly Hills gown. I am guessing this certain time period because it’s not like the Cahill gowns of the 1950s that I’ve seen online. Trying to look up more on Cahill has been like going up a dead end. I know that the dresses were very popular, especially in the ballerina style, but I don’t think the company exists today. Other dresses that I’ve seen from this designer have been very girly. Mine is very girly. Thank goodness it doesn’t have beads or other things like that- I’m not into that. The dress now fits me perfectly, and the amazing thing about it is that I won’t have to hem it up at all. Whoever wore it previously was a person built like me.

The dress is not wedding-ready yet. I recently took a pair of scissors to it, so I may have just ruined it. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get that fixed. There used to be long sleeves and a high neckline, but I hope to make it into a more modern style. Also, the dress needs to be cleaned. My grandma hates this dress, and thinks I should wear white and something newer. I want to show her that it is “the dress.”  

Leave a Reply

