Even More Words for Love

By: niftyba

Oct 15 2007

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Last night, I went through this very long post on Indie Bride about verses people used in their wedding. I couldn’t help but choose a few of my own! I love all of them, especially the last poem.

***

How will I know when to get married or even if I should get married?”

By Robert Fulghum

A question asked of me by a former student who has been living with a man for three years. Their romance began in college and kept right on going through graduate school and into the “real” world of jobs and setting up housekeeping. Marriage was not in their plans because as long as things worked out just living together and taking one day at a time, why should they mess with a good thing? But she’s twenty-seven now. “And…well…you know…” she says, shrugging with eyebrows raised in that gesture people use when words can’t get at exactly what’s on their minds.

Well, I do know, as a matter of fact. One of the long-term benefits of having taught school is the ongoing relationship with people who come along behind me going through all the stages of growing older. And I’ve had this conversation before. Quite a few befores, actually.

Here’s Fulghum’s Formula for Marriage Testing, as passed on to my young friend:

“Heather, give me your first gut reaction to three questions.” She’s ready.

“First, if I asked you to take me and introduce me to the person you’ve known at least five years and would think of as your closest friend in the world, who would it be?”

Her eyes answer. “Him.”

“Second, if I asked you to take me to where ‘home’ is for you, where would it be?”

Her eyes answer. “Wherever he is.”

“Third, do you ever lie in bed at night with him, cuddled up spoon fashion, your backside to his front-side, and his arms around you and neither of you is thinking of sex; instead you are thinking how content you are just being there like that—at home with your closest friend, who just happens to be the man you love?”

Quiet. She was in tears. “How did you know?”

Well, for one thing, I have a home of my own.

And I told her that if he feels the same way, they’re married and just don’t know it yet. I pronounced them husband and wife right there. It’s only a question of whether or not she wants to have a party to celebrate that.

***

Love is More Thicker than Forget

By e.e. cummings

love is more thicker than forget
more thinner than recall
more seldom than a wave is wet
more frequent than to fail

it is most mad and moonly
and less it shall unbe
than all the sea which only
is deeper than the sea

love is less always than to win
less never than alive
less bigger than the least begin
less littler than forgive

it is more sane and sunly
and more it cannot die
than all the sky which only
is higher than the sky

***

A description of marriage

By Edmund O’Neill

Marriage is a promise of love.
It is a commitment to life – to the best two people can find to bring in each other.

Marriage offers opportunities for sharing and growth- a physical and emotional joining that is promised for a lifetime.

Within the circle of its love, marriage encompasses all of life’s most important relationships. A wife and a husband are each other’s best friend, confidant, lover, teacher, listener and critic.

Marriage deepens and enriches every fact of life. Happiness is fuller, memories are fresher, commitment is stronger. Even anger is felt more strongly, but passes more quickly.

Marriage understands and forgives the mistakes life is unable to avoid. It encourages and nurtures new life. When two people pledge to love and care for each other in marriage, they create a spirit unique in themselves which binds them closer then any spoken or written words.

Marriage is a promise. A potential, made in the hearts of two people who love, which takes a lifetime to fulfill.

***

I Wrote a Good Omelet

By Niki Giovanni

I wrote a good omelet…and ate a hot poem…
after loving you

Buttoned my car…and drove my coat home…in the rain…
after loving you

I goed on red…and stopped on green…floating
somewhere in between…
being here and being there
after loving you

I rolled my bed…turned down my hair…slightly
confused but…I don’t care…
Laid out my teeth…and gargled my gown…then I stood
…and laid me down…
to sleep…
after loving you

***

A Picnic on the Earth

By Shuntaro Tanikawa

Let’s jump rope here, you and I. Right here!
Let’s have lunch here, you and I.
Here I will love you.
Your eyes will reflect the blue of the sky
and your back will be dyed the color of mugwort.
Let’s learn, you and I, the names of the constellations.

Here let us dream of all things distant.
Here let’s gather shellfish.
Let’s pick a little starfish
from the sea of the dawning sky.
At breakfast let’s throw it bacl
and let the night recede.

Here I’ll go on saying, “I’m home!”
while you keep saying, “Welcome back!”
I’ll come back here again and again.
Here let’s drink hot tea.
Let’s sit here, you and I, and be caressed for a while
by the cool breeze.

Leave a Reply

