Our First Dance

By: niftyba

Aug 14 2008

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment

Aperture:f/1.2
Focal Length:50mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 30D

Photo by Heather Ahrens

I just opened my iTunes for the first time this month, and I clicked on the song we played for our first dance. Apparently, it had not been played since our wedding on May 24, 2008 at 6:23PM! I don’t want to play the song again because then I’d lose the datestamp! Eh, I’m a sucker. Finding a first dance song was a big deal to me throughout our wedding planning. Billy didn’t like listening to my choices, and dreams of an awesome dance didn’t quite go through. (We’re far from Fred and Ginger.)

Top First Dance Choices

*The Shining (Minataur Shock Mix) by Badly Drawn Boy (the first time Billy and I danced to this, it was so good, I cried)

*The Best of Me by The Starting Line

*You + Me Song by The Wannadies (song used in our engagement photo slideshow)

*Let It Be Me by Rosie Thomas

*Ice Cream by Sarah McLachlan

*Falling Slowly by The Frames

*Such Great Heights by Iron and Wine

*Love Me Tender by Elvis Presley

*I Love You by Barenaked Ladies

*But You by Melanie Horsnell (song used in our wedding photo slideshow)

In the end, we chose Let It Be Me. Or rather, I chose it and Billy simply agreed 5 days before the wedding. And we ended up doing the classic sway dance, which was okay because we are pros at that, and we had no time to rehearse. Plus, Billy is a great spinner. It was a lovely song. I love that we have a standard as our wedding song because now we can hear it more often as done by other singers. I was at the Goodwill two weeks after our wedding when I heard in on the PA system. I was all smiles while looking through the skirt section.

One comment on “Our First Dance”

  1. It’s hard to choose a song! For us it had to be a waltz, so I ended up writing my own, as I couldn’t find one. 🙂

    http://northernshores.wordpress.com/2008/08/18/new-song-magdalenas-wedding-waltz/

    Congrats on the wedding!


Leave a Reply

